Remembering the phenomenon that is Shri APJ Abdul Kalam

image

There are people who come into this world, rise against all odds, do things that are hereby unimaginable for a person of their upbringing and in the process – inspire millions and billions of people across the globe. Mr. Abdul Kalam is one such person.
Not many people have caught the world’s eye the way this man had captured it. And to think that he is no more leaves a hole that is going to take a long long time to fill.
Be it his almost single handed dedication for the rise of ISRO in India, which famously gave him the title of “the missile man” to being one of the most spectacular President’s of India to being awarded the Bharat Ratna , being known as a people’s representative all through, at the core of his personality was a dream to see India restore to its glory and a world of peace of harmony- and he wished to achieve this through the future of the world- children. At the very heart of his personality was this immense simplicity and love of children that made him rise above all.
I had my first brush with Mr kalam in my 6th standard, when I was part of a quiz competition based on his autobiography “wings of fire” . His story greatly inspired me- just as it had to billions of people before. Born in a poor household with barely enough means to carry on day-to-day activities to becoming a scientist and then president to what not. There is almost nothing  this man couldn’t achieve. And it was almost impossible to not be moved and inspired by it. It only made my longing to meet him grow stronger.
Luckily for me, he decided to visit our school in Visakhapatnam in India, and even better was the fact that I was the captain of my school and so would get the honour of welcoming him. My joy knew no bounds. I was tensed as well- the last thing I wanted was to screw the moment out of my tension and excitement combined.
But none of it happened. There was a huge rush of people to see him. But none of it mattered to him. He was there to speak to the students of our school, and I was there to receive him – and the one who got his attention.
He addressed us in the assembly and delivered a message that inspired us all. And through the entire speech , I stood there beside him- soaking in as much of him that I could. I could see the excitement running through everyone, could feel the burning eyes of the future of a nation resting on the actions of a small but strong man, and I got an idea of what it is to be loved and looked up to my almost everyone you come in contact with.  I had been studying in the same school since the past 10 years, and never did I feel the very walls of the building reverberate with the voices of the students repeating after him.
I showed him an art work of his as a representative of the students, and he shook my hands and congratulated me on the good work- thinking that it was I who had made the art! I got my first hand experience of what humility is and what really makes a person “great”.
I remember him quoting that “when I die, don’t declare a holiday. Work a day harder than ever if you really love me”.
The fact that he passed away while delivering a lecture at IIM Shillong, among students- addressing them and doing something he loved the most till his very last breath goes to show what a truly remarkable man he was.
His speeches, his words, his books, his actions, his contributions to science and his very being is sure to inspire people for generations to come.
Rest in peace Mr APJ Abdul Kalam

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a comment